Wellesbourne Cricket Club CHL Saturday 1st XI v Leamington 3rds on Sat 02 Sep 2017 at 1.30pm
Wellesbourne Cricket Club Won

Match report Wellesbourne are the champions of the Premier Division of the Pedigree Cotswold Hills League for the second year running and their third in seven years, after a 90-run win over Leamington 3rds at Loxley Close in the final game of the season left them a healthy 21 points clear of their nearest challengers Exhall & Wixford and Norton Lindsey. The win over Leamington was secured due to a superb partnership of 175 for the fifth wicket, a club record, by Dave Barnett, who played an outstanding captain’s innings of 105 not out and Jamie Maynard who made an excellent 78. These two came together with the champions struggling on 62 for four due to some fine bowling from the Leamington attack. Opening bowlers Dan McCarthy and James Cowan made Bourne’s openers Gary Maynard and Darren Mole work hard for their runs and it was Cowan who made the first breakthrough on 31 having Mole caught by Mark Reynolds and he struck again 17 runs later having Maynard caught by Tom Mackrill for 32. Ben Cowan then removed Jonny Spence caught at slip by Connor Grant and when John Edden went lbw to James Cowan things were looking bleak for the home side. The innings needing rebuilding and cool heads were required and both Barnett and Jamie Maynard had that in abundance as they set about retrieving the situation. Both were very watchful at the beginning but as the partnership continued both players began to completely dominate the bowling and with some tremendous strokeplay took the game out of Leamington’s reach as runs flowed all over the ground. Maynard eventually fell to a well-taken catch by Manpreet Gill off McCarthy with the score on 237 but Barnett continued on to his maiden premier league century, passing 4,000 runs in doing so, and with Arron Snipe took the total to a commanding 269 for five as the home players and spectators began to breathe more easily. James Cowan 3-38, Ben Cowan 1-38 and McCarthy 1-56. Faced with a target of six an over to win, the Leamington innings had a similar start to Bourne’s as Gary Maynard and Snipe bowled tightly and run scoring was proving difficult. With the score on 39 the first wicket fell when Snipe had Mackrill lbw for 26 and then 11 runs later the same bowler removed Gill caught at mid off by Spence. After 20 overs Leamington were 76 for two and beginning to drop well off the rate required and the introduction of young slow left armer Sean Hopwood made Cowan’s eyes light up and he fell to a fine catch on the mid wicket boundary by Gary Maynard for 27 and Bourne were now in the ascendancy as wickets began to fall. Hopwood clean bowled both Reynolds and Treasure and Ben Cherry removed Ben Cowan to a catch by Snipe and the visitors were 114 for six. Leam skipper Matt Dale and Grant tried to rescue the innings adding 41 runs, but then it became the Tom Stephenson show as he took the final four wickets. Grant went to another good boundary catch by Mole, McCarthy was superbly caught and bowled, Wudowski was bowled and finally, Dale having made 37, was caught by Snipe and Leam were all out for 179 in the 44th over, a defeat that has confirmed their relegation. Stephenson 4-24, Hopwood 3-45, Snipe 2-37 and Cherry 1-32 taking the wickets and the culmination of an excellent season for Bourne was complete and as the moon doffed his cap the celebrations began in earnest and continued well into the night . . .

Wellesbourne Cricket Club CHL Saturday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 5 wickets

(45.0 overs)
Gary Maynard Caught  32 1
Darren Mole Caught  7 1
Jonny Spence Caught  2 1
Dave Barnett Not Out  105
John Edden Lbw  8
Jamie Maynard Caught  78
Arron Snipe Not Out  7 2
Travis Butcher  
Ben Cherry  
Tom Stephenson  
Sean Hopwood  

Leamington 3rds Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Leamington 3rds Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
179 (43.3 overs)

Wellesbourne Cricket Club CHL Saturday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Gary Maynard10.013500.003.50
Arron Snipe10.0037218.503.70
Sean Hopwood8.0145315.005.63
Ben Cherry9.0032132.003.56
Tom Stephenson6.322446.003.69