Leek Wootton v Wellesbourne Cricket Club CHL Saturday 1st XI on Sat 12 May 2018 at 1.30pm
Wellesbourne Cricket Club Won

Match report An excellent five-wicket haul from young left arm spinner Sean Hopwood wrapped up the Leek Wootton innings and kick started the new season for champions Wellesbourne as they seek a third successive title. The welcome return to the first team of Chris Evans soon paid dividends as he picked up the first two wickets of the Wootton innings first by bowling Graeme Couchman and then having Kashif Choudhry caught by Darren Mole. John Edden then picked up the wicket of Stuart Budd for 14 caught by Myles Isted and when Mole chipped in with the wickets of Ian Somerville caught by Travis Butcher and Sandeep Murthy caught by Tom Stephenson, the home side were struggling on 62 for five. Run scoring was proving difficult for Wootton as Bourne were keeping things very tight, Stephenson bowling four successive maidens, and when Hopwood was introduced he struck in his third over taking the wicket of Mike Allison (15) caught by Mole and one over later Dave Allison (10) was caught behind by Dave Barnett. Zain Ansari and Ian Cox brought up the hundred but Hopwood then claimed the final three wickets, having Cox stumped by Barnett, Alex Garman caught by Barnett and finally Ansari (13) caught and bowled, to finish with the fine figures of 5-29, with Evans 2-18, Mole 2-18 and Edden 1-15 giving solid support. In reply Bourne got off to a flying start as openers Isted and Mole were soon up and running, helped by a wayward over from Finn Bailey who was withdrawn from the attack for bowling two waist-high full tosses. The total raced to 42 in the seventh over before Bourne lost three quick wickets. Mole was first to go for 18, caught by Budd off Couchman, Isted (16) was caught by Budd off Ansari and then Ross Milton went lbw to Couchman leaving the visitors 47 for three and a glimmer of hope for the home side. However, Jamie Maynard and Tommy Wheeler had other ideas and both players peppered the boundary and took Bourne within five runs of victory when Maynard perished going for the winning six, caught by Choudhry off Dave Allison for 25. Wheeler then struck the boundaries required to see Bourne over the line, finishing on 30 not out. Couchman with 2-25 taking the bowling honours.

Wellesbourne Cricket Club CHL Saturday 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 4 wickets

(17.3 overs)
Myles Isted Caught  16 1
Darren Mole Caught  18 2
Jamie Maynard Caught  25
Ross Milton Lbw  2
Tommy Wheeler Not Out  30
Dave Barnett Not Out  0 2 1
John Edden  
Travis Butcher   1
Tom Stephenson   1
Chris Evans  
Sean Hopwood   1

Leek Wootton Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Leek Wootton Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
107 (40.0 overs)

Wellesbourne Cricket Club CHL Saturday 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Chris Evans8.011829.002.25
John Edden6.0315115.002.50
Darren Mole6.001829.003.00
Tom Stephenson7.041100.001.57
Sean Hopwood8.002955.803.63
Ross Milton5.001300.002.60